Yep, we’re N.U.T.S. (Normal Unattached Transitional Singles).  My best friend and I have decided to start up a club for other new singles who are looking for other people to get together for group dinners and activities.  We’ve found that there are quite a few of us whose marriages are kaputz and children have left the nest who don’t do much besides work, take care of their home and sleep.   So, we started NUTS and although we’re trying to keep it small, we already have eleven members.  We’ve had our first dinner meeting during which we discussed the things we’d like to do, picked out our name and decided that the Squirrel will be our mascot.   The idea is that we’ll go on hikes, bike rides, picnics, kayaking, swimming, excursions to restaurants, movies, museums or do at-home type things like cookouts, pizza parties, game nights, and things like that.  We’re having another dinner/meeting this weekend and I’m bringing the dessert, a homemade-from-scratch chocolate cake, which is now sitting in my refrigerator… calling me… taunting me…. can you tell it’s been a long time since I’ve had chocolate cake?  Anyway, we have high hopes that this group will give us many years of fun and companionship.

Poor squirrel!   If he had to lug all eleven of us around he has good reason to be tired!

Summer has finally arrived here; we’ve had a few days get up into the 80’s, but it didn’t take long to cool down again.  The foliage is a luxuriant deep green, the skies are a brilliant azure and flowers proliferate everywhere!  This is a truly lovely time of year in my small seaside New England town and I regret that I don’t have more time to enjoy this beautiful place.  What with two part-time jobs and a busy extended family that includes six grandchildren, and now being an official NUTS member, it doesn’t leave time for much else.  But, the plan is to get out with my fellow NUTS and make time to actually DO things!  After all, life is too short to let it slip by without actually having lived it.

