After much internal debate, I’ve decided to give up my beloved Little-Apartment-on-the-Pond for cheaper digs.  I just can’t afford to stay here, as much as I hate to leave.  Unfortunately, the economy/job situation is just too uncertain and I don’t see any dramatic improvements coming anytime soon.  But, the good news is that I have somewhere to go, and I’ll have my daughters and grandchildren as neighbors on either side of me; I’m looking forward to spending lots more time with the grandkids and my girls.  What grandma wouldn’t love that? Of course, the other benefit is that I won’t have to see my ex-husband while  he’s working across the street any more, either.  I can only hope that once I no longer have the visual reminder, that it will put an end to the nightly nightmares.

On the plus side, I’ve been getting to spend time with visiting family as we celebrate my younger brother’s 50th birthday this weekend.  My sister and I had been plotting for months.  Our brother knew about the party, but he didn’t know about the surprise element- that it was a Pirate Party!  Most everyone was a good sport about donning pirate/wench attire and the costumes were a hoot!  My petite sister and best friend were dressed as buxom wenches, and their -um- “treasure chests” held the “booby prizes” for all our pirate games!  Everyone laughed to see them pulling scarves, flash lights, pirate socks, screwdrivers kits and more out of their cleavage!  It made the games much more interesting, what with the anticipation to see what they would pull out next!  It was a lot of work, but will be an event long remembered- and best of all, I think that my brother really enjoyed his party.

Now that the shin-dig is behind us and another month starts soon, I have to start preparations to move.  It’s one of my least-favorite chores, but it has to be done.  I’ve been steadily purging my household and plan to keep cleaning out as much as possible before I relocate.  I’m glad that I don’t have a lot of stuff- quite a bit less than most people have in their homes- but I still need to pare-down the piles.  As part of the new chapter in my life, I want a certain amount of freedom; freedom from the onerous bills that come with living in a larger abode (granted, it was only 500 square feet, but it was still more than I could afford), freedom from owning a lot of possessions that will weigh me down, and a lifestyle that will allow me more time to do what I want.   Like many people, I’m fed up with the stress of working and struggling to make ends meet  just to keep a roof over my head.   I’m hoping that this move will be the key to finally getting my life in order and getting that fresh start I’ve been trying to get underway.  So, here we go!  Let the packing begin!

