The count-down is on; it’s less than two weeks until I move from my Little-Apartment-on-the-Pond. It’s sad, but I’ve come to terms with it and I now feel more as though the new place will be a real home for me.  It will take a lot of work before it resembles the seaside loft I’m envisioning, but I have no doubt that it will happen.  As I spent time cleaning my soon-to-be new digs, my two youngest grand-daughters came over to visit and play with the few toys I’d already carted over.  It was fun to have them around and have their company.  I’ve become accustomed to being alone most of the time and this really brought home how wonderful it will be to have the grandkids around more often.   If all goes as planned, this will be my last move.  I want to make this forever home.

In the meantime,  the fall woods where Sammy & I hike are aglow with the colors of fall and every rustling footstep along the leaf-carpeted trails brings a slight pang to my heart as I think about how much I will miss this place.  In the three years I have lived here, I have trod these paths hundreds, maybe even more than a thousand times and being immersed in nature has done much to give me peace as I struggled through the end of a marriage, divorce, and the aftermath.  If I had to endure having my life come crashing down around me, this was the perfect place for it to happen and the perfect place to heal.

I’ll miss the familiar sounds of the farm animals next door; horses neighing, donkeys braying, goat and sheep baaing, chickens clucking and roosters crowing; I’ll miss the quacks of the ducks and squawks of the herons in the ponds, the owls and hawks calling and even the lonely sounds of the coyotes howling and yapping.   My new place will be just off Main Street in the Village, so even though it’s a small town with about 6000 people spread across four villages an occasion deer, fox or coyote will trot through, but it’s not as wild as it is where I am now on the outskirts of town.  Sammy & I will be taking our constitutional on the back roads to the beach instead of in the woods, passing by neatly groomed cottages and their gardens, maybe walking on the shore a ways when we get there.  As a large breed dog, Sammy isn’t crazy about long walks so I’ll have to be happy just to reach the beach with him and get home again!  If I can get him on the sand for a stroll too, that will be the icing on the cake.  The other nice thing about my new home is that if Sammy isn’t keen on going, I can always try one of my daughters’ dogs.  I’ll have my daughters living on either side of me, so I’ll have my choice of dogs to walk with- maybe I could even get a person to accompany me as well!

In any case, I’ll welcome the chance to face east toward the sea on a sandy shore and feel the tangy air on my face more often.  I was raised within sight of the beach and have lived within walking distance off and on throughout my life; this will be like a homecoming in that I will be close to the sea once again.  If I have to leave the Perfect Place, this isn’t a bad place to land.

