Image

When I titled this blog, it was with the idea that my life would go through many transformations over the coming years and I hoped it would also mean embarking on new adventures.  Well, Adventure #1 is coming up next week when my life-long best friend and I hit the road with my dog Sammy and travel to Florida.  It’s about a 3000 mile round trip and once we reach Florida, it will begin with a few days at the State park where I used to live and work.  We will explore my old stomping grounds where I used to walk Sammy as soon as it was daylight (to avoid the mid-day heat) and see deer, bobcats and various other critters on a daily basis, enjoy the wildflowers, gaze at the fish (and gators) in the rivers and see my old friends who still reside and toil there.

Image

Then, we will drive further south to my Dad’s house, where we will stay for 5 days and he’s promised us a jaunt in his sailboat up the Peace River, where he used to give guided tours.  We’ll see the birds’ rookeries, white-sided dolphins splash, manatees and gators skulk along and the wonderful tropical greenery before fetching-up at a riverside restaurant.  Our week’s activities will include an excursion to the Fish & Wildlife Management Area where I was employed for several years and a day on the islands of Sanibel and Captiva where we plan to wander around, go shell-hunting and eat yummy food at the Bubble Room!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve been working really hard lately, often not finishing until 11 o’clock at night and I’ve been putting hours on weekends, too.  I’m exhausted and I’m ready to break away from the grind and just go have fun!  My best friend and I are both (relatively) newly single and this has been our first chance to get away together and we intend to make the most of it.  After all these years of standing by one another through school angst, young married years, raising our families and break-ups of marriages, it’s time to finally leave the nitty-gritty of life behind and just enjoy.

Yes, I can see change.  And it’s good.

Image

