What a winter this has been!  Wild winds frequently near or beyond hurricane force, temps down to single digits, snow several times a week…. our mild Cape Cod winter was replaced by the kind that the mainland usually suffers through and it makes me realize how spoiled we have been.  But, thank goodness- spring is just around the corner!

Bridge

A friend & I managed to get away to Florida for a much needed vacation.  It had it’s good and bad points, but overall, it was definitely worth it.  We had some wonderful times with good friends and the weather was amazing!  We savored a sunny day on a Sanibel beach, dipping our toes in the miraculously warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico (which is warmer in January than the north Atlantic is in August!) hiked lots of tropical trails, ate lots of really delicious foods, shopped in some really fun stores- it would have been easy to stay longer if we could have finagled it!

Peace River

Now that I’m home again, it’s hard to believe that I was ever there; that it wasn’t just some pleasant dream or book I’d read.   The trip was also a poignant reminder of how many good friends I left behind.  *sigh*  If only I could live in two places at once!  But, as much as I may miss Florida, I know my home is here.  I do hope to be able to return much more often, though; to reconnect with people and places that will always own a bit of my heart.

Trail

