Parnassus on Wheels

Parnassus on Wheels

It’s been a few months since I’ve had a chance to add to my blog, mostly because of my new babysitting duties.  My youngest daughter is the single parent of three girls between the ages of 2 and 10 years old and since her ex doesn’t contribute to their welfare, she is forced to work -currently- three jobs.  One is a 11 to 7 shift at a nursing home, at least 2 to 3 nights a week.   This is in addition to working in a nursing home kitchen 4 days a week and cleaning houses on the side.  She takes any extra shifts she can get.  The three girls stay with me while their mother works at night; they live next door, so it’s no big deal to walk across the lawn to sleep at grandma’s house.  I worry about my daughter, but I remember working all kinds of crazy hours when I was young, too- I just hope she can hold up until she can work herself into a better schedule.   In the mean time, my blogging has been cut a little short- but I don’t mind.  I adore my sweet granddaughters and I love spending time with them.  I haven’t had much to blog about, anyways; my only big news is that I’ve sold my little pickup truck and purchased a used camper-van.

I’ve missing camping and RVing terribly over the last few years and even though I was broke, I still watched the local want-ads to see what was for sale.  This last April, I had an unexpected tax return at the same time I saw a small Chinook camper van for sale.  It was just what I was looking for, but the $2500 price tag was out of my range.  A few weeks later, the price came down to $1500, so I first called my mechanic to ask what he thought about the vehicle and contacted the owner.  We made arrangements to meet and my mechanic (a longtime friend) volunteered to go with me.  As we went over the vehicle, and I did some mental arithmetic… I realized that I couldn’t afford to fix it up and buy it, too.  But, the owner asked if I’d like to make an offer.  I thought a moment and hesitated, then explained my circumstances.  He still encouraged me to make an offer,  looking around meaningfully at the other two RV’s in the yard… his neighbors were not appreciating the view, so he was under some pressure to clean the place out.  I shrugged: “Well- would you take $800?”  And the rest is history.

Parnassus "before"

Parnassus “before”

So, I named the camper Parnassus in honor one of my favorite books Parnassus on Wheels by Christopher Morley and went to work on her.  She needed a new carburetor and a few mechanical tweaks, new tires and a visit to a RV shop to go over her systems and see what was what.  My tax return purchased the vehicle outright.  Selling my little ten year-old truck paid for everything else.  Plus, I started to renovate the orange and brown interior with light and airy colors.  The outside has also been changed from white with brown and mustard-yellow stripes to white with teal green and sea foam green stripes.  It has a long ways to go before I’m going to journey too far from home, but for now, it’s transportation and a means to do some local camping.  All I need now is the time and the money to go!  But, hey- she’s all mine- and when the time is right, our adventures will begin.

Parnassus "after"

Parnassus “after”

